Mobile nav

The NOA Lifetime Achievement Award

The NOA recognizes the achievements of those who have dedicated their lives to opera.
Pictured: Samuel Ramey, 2015 recipient

Recipients are selected by the Board of Directors on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Substantial international and national operatic career
  • Previous awards and/or recognition at the national or international level
  • Significant number of years in the profession
  • Attractive “name recognition” for the conference
  • Demonstrated commitment or interest in fostering operatic/musical education


Recipients of the NOA Lifetime Achievement Award are:

1998 Kirke Mechem
Robert Ward
Jack Beeson
Carlisle Floyd
Ruby Mercer
Rudolph Fellner
Thea Musgrave
Seymour Barab
Ruth Martin
Mary Elaine Wallace
Robert Gay
1999 Sherrill Milnes  
2001 Regina Resnick Jon Vickers
2002 Anna Moffo Robert Merrill
2003 Gilda Cruz-Romo  
2004 Dominick Argento Colin Graham
2005 Phyllis Curtin
Joseph Volpe
Beverly Sills
2006 David DiChiera  
2007 Ryan Edwards Matthew Epstein
2009 Marilyn Horne Evelyn Lear
2011 Jonathan Pell  
2012 Speight Jenkins  
2013 Johanna Meier  
2014 Samuel Ramey  
2015 George Shirley  
2016 Robert Larsen Henry Price
2017 John Moriarty Virginia Zeani
2019 David Bamberger  
2020 Dorothy Danner  
2021 Joan Dornemann  
2022 John DeMain  
Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Speight Jenkins