Mobile nav

2022-2023 Production Competition Winners

The winners of the 2022-2023 Opera Production Competition have been announced. Due to the vast range of resources available to producing organizations, the 87 entrants were first divided into Undergraduate and Graduate levels (based on predominant age group or training level of the cast) and then each level divided into divisions according to production size and budget. A total of 24 awards have been given by the judges.

Photo Gallery

Division I

1st Place (tie)

Baylor University:
Monsieur et Madame Denis, by Jacques Offenbach & Laurencin and Michel Delaporte

Jen Stephenson, Director
Kathleen Kelly, Vocal Coach
Riley Winterton, Assistant Stage Director

1st Place (tie)

Shenandoah University:
Hydrogen Jukebox, by Philip Glass & Allen Ginsberg

Ella Marchment, Director
Lindsay Browning, Choreographer
Wei-Han Wu, Music Director
Oak Neel, Lighting Designer

1st Place (tie)

SUNY Potsdam - Crane School of Music:
The Enchanted Pig, by Jonathan Dove & Alasdair Middleton

Michael Scarola, Director
Brock Tjosvold, Music Director, Conductor, and Vocal Coach
John Larrance, Scenic Designer, Lighting Designer, and Technical Director
Sarah Maurer-Groth, Costume Coordinator

Division II

1st Place

University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music:
Dido and Aeneas/Gianni Schicchi Double Bill, by Henry Purcell & Nahum Tate and Giacomo Puccini & Giovacchino Forzano

Kenneth Shaw, Stage Director
Dr. Brett Scott, Musical Director/Conductor
Amy Johnson, Producer
Susan Moser, Movement/Choreography

2nd Place (tie)

Chapman University:
Cinderella, by Jules Massenet

Marc Callahan, Director
Jotaro Nakano, Conductor
Janet Kao, Vocal Coach
Clara Cheng, Vocal Coach

2nd Place (tie)

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point:
Dial M for Moore Menotti: Gallantry/The Telephone/The Old Maid and the Thief, by Moore & Sundgaard / Gian Carlo Menotti

Matthew Markham, Director and Producer
Kristin Ditlow, Music Director
Sarah Ross, Scenic Designer
Isaac Norman, Lighting Designer

Division III

1st Place

Miami University:
Paul's Case, by Gregory Spears & Willa Cather

Benjamin Smolder, Director, Conductor
Tiffany Lusht, Production Manager
Christina Haan, Vocal Coach

2nd Place (tie)

Queens College:
The Turn of the Screw, by Benjamin Britten & Myfanwy Piper

Alex Paul Sheerin, Director
Louis Burkot, Conductor
Rebecca Ming, Costume Designer
Graham Kindred, Lighting Designer

2nd Place (tie)

University of the Pacific Conservatory of Music:
Into the Woods, by Stephen Sondheim & James Lapine

James Haffner, Stage Director
Eric Dudley, Conductor & Music Director
Carl Pantle, Assistant Music Director
James Gonzales, Production Manager

Honorable Mention

Westminster Choir College at Rider University:
The Ghosts of Gatsby, by Evan Mack & Joshua McGuire

Susan Shiplett Ashbaker, Conductor/Producer
Ross Beschler, Stage Director
Buck Linton, Scenic Designer
Robin Shane, Costume Designer

Division IV

1st Place

Baldwin Wallace Conservatory of Music:
We've Got Our Eye On You, by Nkeiru Okoye & David Cote

Nkeiru Okoye & David Cote, Composer and Lyrics & Libretto
Scott Skiba, Producer / Stage Director
Dean Buck, Conductor
Heather Dennen, Choreographer

2nd Place

Moores Opera Center - University of Houston:
Sondheim on Sondheim, by Stephen Sondheim & Various

Nicole Kenley-Miller, Co-Stage Director
Lawrence Edelson, Co-Stage Director
Laura Bergquist, Conductor/Musical Director
Shaun Heath/Mary Webber, Costume Designers

3rd Place

Portland State University:
Die Zauberflöte, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart & Emanuel Schikaneder

Kelley Nassief, Artistic Director
Linda Brovsky, Stage Director
Dr. Chuck Dillard, Music Director/Conductor
Peter West, Lighting Designer

Division V

1st Place

Moores Opera Center - University of Houston:
Ainadamar, by Osvaldo Golijov & David Henry Hwang

Lawrence Edelson, Stage Director and Choreographer
Steve Osgood, Conductor
Jason Burton, Lighting Designer
Andrew Harper, Sound Designer

2nd Place

North Park University:
Buried Alive, by Jeff Myers & Quincy Long

George Cederquist, Director
Jennifer McCabe, Vocal Coach and Pianist

3rd Place

The University of Kansas:
The Turn of the Screw, by Benjamin Britten & Myfanwy Piper

Stella Markou, Director, Costume/Set Designer, Music Director
Boris Vayner, Conductor
Nicole McKinney, Lighting Designer
Tatiana Tessman, Pianist, Music Direction

Division VI

1st Place

University of Michigan:
The Cunning Little Vixen, by Leoš Janácek & Rudolf Tesnohlídek

Kirk Severtson, Conductor
Tara Faircloth, Stage Director
Cameron Anderson, Scenic Designer
Sarah M. Oliver, Costume Designer

2nd Place (tie)

Temple University Opera Theater:
Dark Sisters, by Nico Muhly & Stephen Karam

Brandon McShaffrey, Stage Director
Danielle Jagelski, Conductor
Christopher Turbessi, Principal Coach

2nd Place (tie)

University of Missouri - Kansas City:
Proving Up, by Missy Mazzoli & Royce Vavrek

Linda Ade Brand, Stage Director
Joshua Horsch, Conductor
Zeb Johnson, Lighting and Projections Designer
Natalia Rivera and Daniel Fung, Vocal Coaches

Division VII

1st Place

University of North Texas:
A Streetcar Named Desire, by André Previn & Philip Littell

Stephanie Rhodes Russell, Conductor
Taylor Rachel Carnes, Stage Director
Donna Marquet, Scenic Design
Michael Robinson, Costume Design

2nd Place

Manhattan School of Music:
La liberazione di Ruggiero dall'isola d'Alcina, by Francesca Caccini & Ferdinando Saracinelli

Jorge Parodi, Conductor
James Blaszko, Stage Director
Rodrigo Hernandez Martinez, Scenic Coordinator
Christopher Metzger, Costume Designer

3rd Place

Arizona State University:
Daughter of the Regiment, by Gaetano Donizetti & Jules-Henri Vernoy de Saint-Georges

Brian DeMaris, Conductor
Dale Dreyfoos, Director

Division VIII

1st Place

Manhattan School of Music:
The Cunning Little Vixen, by Leoš Janácek

Kirk Severtson, Conductor
Dennis Whitehead Darling, Stage Director
Felicity Stiverson, Choreographer
Jen Gillette, Costume Designer

2nd Place

University of Toronto Opera:
A Comedic Trilogy (Hin und zurück, Monsieur Choufleuri restera chez lui le, Gallantry)

Michael Patrick Albano, Director
Sandra Horst, Conductor