Mobile nav

2015-2016 Production Competition Winners

The winners of the 2015‐2016 Opera Production Competition have been announced. Due to the vast range of resources available to producing organizations, the entrants are grouped into 6 categories, and a total of 21 awards have been given by the judges.

Division I      Judges: Mary Kay McGarvey, Lisa Dawson, Dawn Neely

1st place – Jackie O, Oklahoma City University, David Herendeen, Director, Chuck Koslowske, Conductor

2nd place – Trial by Jury/The Beautiful Bridegroom, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Linda Lister, Director, Faustino Solis/Linda Lister, Conductors

3rd place (tie) – Expressions of Acceptance, Lawrence University, Copeland Woodruff, Director

3rd place (tie) – Postcard from Morocco, San Jose State University, Layna Chianakas, Director, Fred Cohen, Conductor

Division II     Judges: Christine Seitz, Marc Schapman, Melanie Helton

1st place – Cosi fan tutte, Western Washington University, Amber Suddeth Bone, Director, Jay Rozendaal, Conductor

2nd place (tie) – The Blue Forest, Oregon State University, Marc Callahan, Director, Lauren Servias, Conductor

2nd place (tie) –The Tender Land, Messiah College, Damian Savarino, Director, Timothy Dixon, Conductor

3rd place – The Gondoliers, University of Montana, Anne Basinski, Director, David Cody, Conductor

Division III   Judges: Marc Embree, Amy Johnson, Samuel Mungo

1st Place – Transformations, University of Wisconsin-Madison, David Ronis, Director, Kyle Knox, Conductor

2nd Place – Don Pasquale, Oklahoma City University, David Herendeen, Director, Jan McDaniel, Conductor

3rd Place – L’Enfant et les Sortilèges, University of Mississippi, Julia Aubrey, Director, Selim Giray, Conductor

Division IV   Judges: Copeland Woodruff, Steven Tharp, Susan Fleming

1st Place – A Room with a View, Michigan State University, Melanie Helton, Director, Marcello Cormio, Conductor

2nd Place – Le nozze di Figaro, University of Wisconsin-Madison, David Ronis, Director, James Smith, Conductor

3rd Place – Evita, Oklahoma City University, David Herendeen, Director, Jan McDaniel, conductor

Division V    Judges: Marc Verzatt, Jane Bunnell, Christopher Meerdinck

1st Place – La Tragédie de Carmen, Fletcher Opera Institute (University of North Carolina School of the Arts), Director Nicholas Muni, Conductor Neal Goren

2nd Place – Anna Karenina (composer David Carlson and librettist Colin Graham), Moores Opera Center (University of Houston), Buck Ross, Director, Raymond Harvey, Conductor

3rd Place –  Lady Bird, Texas State University, Samuel Mungo, Director, Carolyn Watson, Conductor

Division VI   Judges: Julia Aubrey, Daniel Beckwith, Jacque Trussel, Melanie Helton

1st Place – The Beggar’s Opera, Lawrence University, Copeland Woodruff, Director, Hal France, Conductor

2nd Place – La Cenerentola, Bob Jones University, Jeffrey Stegall, Director, Michael Moore, Conductor

3rd Place (tie) – Higglety-Pigglety Pop/The Magic Flute, Bard College, Nicholas Muni, Director, James Bagwell, Conductor

3rd Place (tie) – The Crucible, State University of New York at Purchase, Jacque Trussel, Director, Hugh Murphy, Conductor