Mobile nav

2018 Competition Winners

Congratulations to the winners and all finalists who competed at the New Orleans convention in January 2018!


First Place

Louisiana State University – Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Little Women, Act II, Scene 5       Mark Adamo

Stage Director: Rachel M. Harris    Musical Director: Elena Lacheva and Kristen Eliason
Pianist: Kristen Eliason


Second Place

Southeastern Louisiana University – Hammond, Louisiana

The Merry Wives of Windsor, Act I, Scene I                           Otto Nicolai

Stage Director: Rachel M. Harris        Musical Director and Pianist: Charles Effler



Samford University, scene from Hänsel und Gretel

Virginia Commonwealth University, scene from Don Pasquale


First Place

Samford University – Birmingham, Alabama

On the Town, Act I, Scene 5         Leonard Bernstein


Stage Director: Kristin Kenning   Musical Director: Brian Viliunas  
Pianist: John Robertson            Costumes: Mary Gurney 


Second Place

Sam Houston State University – Huntsville, Texas

West Side Story, Act II, No. 12         Leonard Bernstein

Stage and Musical Director: Rebecca Renfro Grimes         Pianist: Olena Blahulyak



Missouri State University, scene from A Little Night Music

University of Missouri, scene from Company


First Place

Louisiana State University – Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Dog Days, Act 1 Summer, Prologue: A Man in a Dog Suit           David T. Little

Stage Director: Dugg McDonough      Musical Director and Pianist: Michael Borowitz


Second Place

University of Mississippi – Oxford, Mississippi

Albert Herring, Act II: Outside Mrs. Herring’s Greengrocery Shop       Benjamin Britten

Stage Director: Julia Aubrey                        Musical Director and Pianist: Amanda Johnston
Costumes: Ashley Moss



Sam Houston State University, scene from Don Pasquale

Georgia State University, scene from La Favorita


2018 Finals Judges: David Ronis, Leanne Clement, Givonna Joseph, Philip Seward, and Christy Lee