Mobile nav

2016 Competition Winners

Congratulations to the winners and all finalists who competed at the Indianapolis convention in January 2016!


First Place

Lawrence University - Appleton, WI
Le nozze di Figaro, Act III, Sextet        W. A. Mozart

Figaro: Paul Gutmann Susanna: Katie Mueller Marcellina: Kayla Siembieda
Bartolo: Josh Eidem Count Almaviva: Mitchell Kasprzyk Don Curzio: Jackson Rosenberry
Stage Director: Copeland Woodruff Music Director: Bonnie Koestner
Pianist: Derrick Hahn

Second Place

Kennesaw State University - Kennesaw, GA
The Hotel Casablanca, Act I, Scene 2      Giuseppe Verdi

Tahlula Carter: Emily Crisp Lucy Perez: Camille Hathaway
Stage and Music Director: Eileen Moremen Pianist: Judy Cole


Sam Houston State University, scene from Le nozze di Figaro

Michigan State University, scene from The Grapes of Wrath

DePauw University, scene from Rusalka


First Place

DePauw University - Greencastle, IN
A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder, Act I, "Poison in My Pocket"      Steven Lutvak

Miss Evangeline Barley: Julie Strauser Asquith D'Ysquith, Jr.: Dylan Prentice
Monty Navarro: Dallas Gray
Stage and Music Director: Steven Linville Pianist: Tony Weinstein

Second Place

Samford University - Birmingham, AL
How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Act I, "Been a Long Day"    Frank Loesser

Smitty: Holly Harrington Rosemary: Madilyn Muse Finch: Reid Parrott
Stage and Music Director: Kristin Kenning Pianist: John Robertson


Sam Houston State University, scene from Carousel

Bucknell University, scene from The Light in the Piazza


First Place

University of Illinois - Urbana, IL
The Turn of the Screw, Act II, Scene vii, "Flora"     Benjamin Britten

Flora: Alicia Hurtado The Governess: Eleanora Benedict
Mrs. Grose: Rosemary Hamington Miss Jessel: Marla Moore
Stage Director: Dawn Harris Music Directors: Julie Gunn and Dennis Helmrich
Pianist: Michael Bagby

Second Place

Missouri State University - Springfield, MO
Picnic, Act I, "The Food Quartet"        Libby Larsen

Christine: Sierra Saylor Irma: Brianna Gilliam
Flo: Tyler Schlesselman Rosemary: Lisa Blake
Stage and Music Director: Ann Marie Wilcox-Daehn Pianist: Danielle Hardin


Sam Houston State University, scene from L'elisir d'amore


2016 Finals Judges: Dean Anthony, Michael Ehrman, Linda Lister, Kevin Patterson, Valerie Trujillo

2016 Competition Flyer

2016 COSC