Mobile nav

2019-2020 Production Competition Winners

The winners of the 2019-2020 Opera Production Competition have been announced. Due to the vast range of resources available to producing organizations, the entrants are first divided into Undergraduate and Graduate levels (based on predominant age group or training level of the cast) and then each level divided into three divisions according to production size and budget.  A total of 12 awards have been given by the judges.

Undergraduate Divisions

Division I  
1st Place University of Missouri - St. Louis
The Clever Artifice of Harriet and Margaret, by Leanna Kirchoff, libretto by Leanna Kirchoff
     Stella Markou, Director, Designer, Vocal Coach
     Gail Hintz, Music Director
     Darwin Aquino, Conductor
2nd Place Oklahoma City University
The Zombies of Penzance, by Gilbert Sullivan, Scott Miller, libretto by Arthur Sullivan, Scott Miller
     David Herendeen, Director
     Chuck Koslowske, Music Director
     Meghan Settle, Light Designer
Division II  
1st Place Oklahoma City University
Die Fledermaus, by Johann Strauss II, libretto by English Version by Leonard Hancock & Sir David Poutney, Adapted by Wayne Bryan
     David Herendeen, Director
     Jan McDaniel, Music Director
     Larry Heyman, Scenic Design
     Rachel Barnett, Costume Design
2nd Place Conservatory of Music/SUNY - Purchase Opera
Dido & Aeneas, by Henry Purcell, libretto by Nahum Tate
     Jacque Trussel, Director
     Hugh Murphy, Conductor
     William Byram, Choreographer
     Margaret Vignola, Assistant Director
Division III  
1st Place Hillman Opera SUNY Fredonia
Cendrillon, by Jules Massenet, libretto by Henri Cain
     Dr. David Rudge, Music Director/Conductor
     Dr. Nestor Goldsmith, Stage Director
     Dr. Robert Strauss, Producer
     Anthony Alterio, Choreographer
2nd Place Miami University Opera Theater
The Marriage of Figaro, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte
     Benjamin Smolder, Director, Conductor, Producer
     Tiffany Lusht, Production Manager, Costumes, Co-Director
     Nicholas Muni, Scenic and Lighting Design
     Christina Haan, Vocal Coach

Graduate Divisions

Division IV  
1st Place University of Utah
Amahl and the Night Visitors/A Christmas Carol, by Gian Carlo Menotti/Michael G. Leavitt, libretto by Gian Carlo Menotti/Anthony J. Buck
     Robert Breault, Executive Producer Director (Amahl and the Night Visitors)
     Jeffrey Price, Music Director
     Robert Baldwin, Conductor
     Michael G Leavitt, Conductor, Composer, Stage Director (A Christmas Carol)
2nd Place University of Oregon
LA Tragédie de Carmen, by Bizet / Constant, libretto by Meilhac & Halévy
     Karen Esquivel, Director, Scenic Designer, Costume Design
     Brian McWhorter, Conductor
Division V  
1st Place Peabody Institute
The Falling and the Rising, by Zach Redler, libretto by Jerre Dye
     Samuel Mungo, Director
     JoAnn Kulesza, Conductor
2nd Place University of Wisconsin-Madison
Cosi fan tutte, by W.A. Mozart, libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte
     David A Ronis, Director
     Oriol Sans, Conductor
     Joseph Varga, Scenic Designer
     Thomas Kasdorf, Vocal Coach
Division VI  
1st Place Arizona State University
Street Scene, by Kurt Weill, libretto by Langston Hughes
     Brian DeMaris, Conductor
     Patrick Hansen, Stage Director
     Mary Corsaro, Choreographer
2nd Place University of North Texas
Don Giovanni, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte
     Jonathan Eaton, Director
     Robert Frankenberry, Conductor