Chamber Opera Composition Winner

Congratulations to the finalists of the NOA Chamber Opera Competition!  Portions of each were chosen last month.  The finalists are:

  • The Dawn Makers by Allen Shearer, composer, Claudia Stevens, librettist
  • The Clever Artifice of Harriet and Margaret by Leanna Kirchoff, composer and librettist
  • The Lady of Shalott by Christopher Weiss, composer, S. O’Duinn Magee, librettist. 
Portions of each will be produced at the national convention by the UNCG Opera Theatre in collaboration with the UNC School of the Arts in Winston-Salem.  The winning opera will be presented in its entirety at our national convention in 2016.
Posted by: severtki


About NOA


Past Presidents of NOA

Leonard Treash (1955-56)
Daniel Harris (1957-58)
Peter Paul Fuchs (1959-60)
Howard Groth (1961-62)
Hubert Kockritz (1963-64)
Robert Gay (1965)
Richard Collins (1966-67)
David W. Scott (1968-69)
Clifford Reims (1970-71)
Arthur Schoep (1972-73)
Mary Elaine Wallace (1974-75)
Larry Day (1976-77)
Clifton Ware (1978-79)
Natalie Limonick (1980-81)
Marajean Marvin (1982-83)
Carl Zytowski (1984-85)
Jerome V. Reel, Jr. (1986-88)
Randall Holden (1988-90)
Leland Fox (1990-92)
Robert J. Murray (1992-94)
Randall Holden (1994-95)
Robert Hansen (1995-98)
Arvid Knutsen (1998-2000)
Pat Heuermann (2000-02)
Ryan Edwards (2002-04)
Penelope Speedie (2004-06)
JoElyn Wakefield-Wright (2006-08)
John Pfautz (2008-10)
Elizabeth Kirkpatrick Vrenios (2010-12)
Julia Aubrey (2012-14)
David Holley (2014-16)